Ms. Mary Odum’s Energy Blessing

February 6, 2012 at 12:04 pm Leave a comment

Ms. Mary Odom heard about the Neighborhood Energy Retrofit Program (NERP) from her neighbor, but she didn’t qualify for the program because she had a gas heater that she used for emergencies and she wanted to keep it.  Ms. Odom had a Hands-On Workshop in her home where volunteers demonstrated several low-cost and no-cost energy-saving techniques.  Ms. Odom requested her free compact fluorescent light bulbs from Duke Energy and she made sure to turn off all of her lights and unplug her appliances when she wasn’t using them.  Ms. Odom told Clean Energy Durham,

“The energy program is a blessing because when I got the information about this extra savings strategy that’s how I realized the savings.  It was good to talk about the [power] strips because I did not know about that, and I did not know that I was supposed to clean the refrigerator coils or the dryer vent.  It was good to learn all of that and after a while, you become conscious of it.  This month I used 674 kWh and last year I used 752 kWh during the same month.  My average energy bill was usually $150-200 month in the summertime and last month it was $61.83.  Since I made the low cost repairs, my bill has not been more than $90.  You see how it changed, don’t you?  By changing my habits and applying the no cost techniques on how to save energy, that has helped me a lot.  Even in the hottest months I did not go to $100.  To me that was a blessing.  It gives me extra money to do something else with—I bought a camera last time.” 

Lenora

Email to a friend

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Entry filed under: Fisher Heights.

Neighborhood Energy Retrofit Volunteers: Why They Did It Energy Star Rebate Program Re-Opened

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Clean Energy Durham

Thank you for visiting the Clean Energy Durham blog. You can also visit our web site at:
http://www.cleanenergydurham.org

Categories

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


