Neighborhood Energy Retrofit Volunteers: Why They Did It

February 3, 2012 at 8:22 am Leave a comment

More than 100 Neighborhood Energy Retrofit volunteers helped to make this neighbor-to-neighbor program successful.  Below are reasons given by some of the volunteers for their extraordinary volunteer service.

  • “I thought it was a good project, something to help me and my family.  It was community centered and everybody could learn about energy conservation and how to make their home more energy-efficient.”  Deborah Brame, Fisher Heights
  • “I thought it was a good opportunity to improve my home and to show others how to make improvements to their home as well.”  Yulanda Horton, Fisher Heights
  • “I volunteered because it seemed like a useful program and not too time consuming.  I also used to organize workshops in my job so it was something I knew how to do and it was an opportunity to meet people.”  Liz Sappenfield, Watts Hospital Hillandale
  • “I support Clean Energy Durham and I saw it as a way to give back to Clean Energy Durham and I like my neighborhood and it was a way to give back to my neighborhood as well.”  Mary Wible-Brennan, Tuscaloosa Lakewood\Lakewood
  • “It was interesting and I wanted to know more about the program.  There weren’t many people volunteering for the program and it didn’t seem all that hard.”  Erin Kennedy, Colonial Village
  • “I am an environmental educator by profession.  This program gave me a chance to promote environmentally responsible decisions in my own community. It involved direct action, really doing things.”  Beth Cranford, Tuscaloosa Lakewood/Lakewood

Lenora

Email to a friend

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Entry filed under: Neighborhood Energy Retrofit Program (NERP), Volunteers.

Welcome Durham Cycles to Ninth Street! Ms. Mary Odum’s Energy Blessing

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Clean Energy Durham

Thank you for visiting the Clean Energy Durham blog. You can also visit our web site at:
http://www.cleanenergydurham.org

Categories

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


