Jada’s House Gets a Facelift!

December 17, 2010 at 12:20 am Leave a comment

Oh my gosh you guys!  The heater feels like it is making more heat!!” This comment appeared in my email recently.  Jada is one of the first folks to have the city-sponsored retrofit completed in her house.  Her excitement sang out, continuing:   “I know that sounds silly, but it is true. I can feel more heat in the living room than I used to. I think it is because of the goop they put down inside the vents. I’m so warm right now! 😀 LOVE it!!”

As part of the Neighborhood Energy Retrofit Program , Jada’s  attic floor was sealed so that the heated air won’t seep up and out. The vents and duct work were sealed with Mastic (not really goop!).  Cellulose insulation was blown in, covering the attic floor with approximately 6+inches of insulation.  This will keep the air inside her house warm, just like a giant thick warm sweater keeps our bodies warm on cold days.

“The blown-in  insulation looks INCREDIBLE!! I don’t recognize my attic. I’m a little intimidated by it actually. I used to balance things on the joists. I can’t even SEE the joists now. It is not even the same space!”

Attic floor air sealing, insulation to be blown in

Attic pull-down stairs air sealing

Jeanne

Entry filed under: Neighborhood Energy Retrofit Program (NERP).

And BINGO Was His Name-O… Welcome Aboard Stonehill!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Clean Energy Durham

Thank you for visiting the Clean Energy Durham blog. You can also visit our web site at:
http://www.cleanenergydurham.org

Categories

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


