Line Drying

August 20, 2010 at 8:12 pm 2 comments

I never would have guessed that line drying my clothes would provide me a great sense of serenity.  Line drying lets me commune with nature, inspires my maternal and nurturing instincts, and allows me to publicly profess my environmental commitment without uttering a word.  I have learned, however, that line drying is a much more deliberate process than what I have been accustomed to.  So far I have completed three line drying sessions and below are elementary lessons I’ve learned:

  • First, I realized that weather matters.  It is counterproductive to line dry before an impending rain shower.
  • Next, I learned not to wash more loads than my line could hold.
  • Then I discovered two handy lessons about clothes pins – have plenty on hand and have a light satchel to carry them in.
  • Another practical lesson is to wash the heavy loads and hang them out first.  I have an umbrella clothes line so I hang my heavy items closest to the pole so I don’t disturb them when I hang another load.
  • Also I turn my clothes inside out before hanging them on the line.  This allows the pockets to dry and protects the clothes against fading.
  • Additionally, I wash early in the morning.  I allow two to three hours drying time for denim and other heavy garments.
  • Since this is an outdoor activity, I try not to forget my sunscreen, big hat, and mosquito repellent.
  • I’ve realized that this is a good time for young children and pets to play outside.
  • Please note that I prefer to hang my unmentionables on an indoor rack.  I only line dry my outer garments.

For everything you could ever want to know about clotheslines, check out:

http://www.tiptheplanet.com/index.php?title=Air_dry_washing

Lenora

Entry filed under: Neighborhoods.

Bull City Connector Launches Today NECD Livability Initiative

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary  |  August 24, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    I have found that a clothes line is not enough if I am going to air dry all of my laundry. I also need a clothes drying rack so that I can dry on those days that the weather does not cooperate. Or as is more often the case on those days that I don’t get around doing my laundry till late afternoon or evening. I find they dry overnight in the kitchen under the ceiling fan.

    Reply
  • 2. Pete  |  August 30, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    It’s a sad commentary on our “modern” lifestyles that we need a clothesline to connect us to the daily weather! We also line dry exclusively (except for the rare time we get caught with our pants out, so to speak, and need them before they would dry indoors!). We also find our clothes are lasting much longer without all the tumbling and heat of a machine dryer. Front loading washing machines also are gentler on the clothes, and speed up drying (by any method). We manage line capacity by staging the loads to the time it takes them to dry completely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Clean Energy Durham

Thank you for visiting the Clean Energy Durham blog. You can also visit our web site at:
http://www.cleanenergydurham.org

Categories

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


