Why get to know your neighbors?

March 9, 2010 at 3:35 pm 1 comment

Confession: I’ve lived in my current home since January, and I had not met any of my neighbors, until Saturday morning. I walked out of my house to put something in the mail, closing the door behind me, as not to let the dogs out. I returned from the mail box only to discover my door was locked from the inside. I was still in my pajamas. My housemates were already out and about for the day.

For the first few minutes I stood in the driveway and wondered what to do. I looked around and realized I didn’t know any of my neighbors. There was a car in the driveway to my left. Nervously, I walked across the yard and rang the doorbell. The only response was several barking dogs. I walked around the corner to the house with the Smartcar parked in the driveway, an obvious sign of commitment to energy savings. I knew we would have a common interest. The homeowners, still in their pajamas, invited me in. They offered me coffee, yogurt and granola and allowed me to use their computer to get a cell phone number of my housemates from my email account. Then they let me use their cell phone to call my housemates.

While I was waiting for my housemates to come home and let me in, I got to know my neighbors. I found out we did indeed share a common interest in household energy efficiency. Could this be the beginning of a neighborhood energy group? We had a lovely morning together.

My advice: get to know your neighbors today. If you wind up locked out and in your PJ’s, your neighborhood energy group may come to your rescue!

Jenny Graves, Community Outreach Coordinator

Entry filed under: Neighborhoods.

Compare Your Energy Bills to Your Neighbors’ Morehead Hill Clean Energy Forward workshop

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ann  |  March 9, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Thanks for your warm and friendly story, Jenny. We do need our neighbors in so many ways, and who doesn’t want to reduce their utility bills? Community caring is the way we grew up; I’d like to renew that feeling in our neighborhood, too.
    Wearing your pj’s till noon and visiting in the front yard is a great way to get acquainted.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Clean Energy Durham

Thank you for visiting the Clean Energy Durham blog. You can also visit our web site at:
http://www.cleanenergydurham.org

Categories

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


